An Unofficial Keiji Haino Homepage -- Recent News

An Unofficial Keiji Haino Homepage
Recent News -- 2011
December 9, 2011
Obituary:   I discovered today that Hans Reichel of FMP and daxophone fame passed away November 22, 2011. Reichel was, among other things, a master of improvisational guitar in the last three decades of the twentieth century. He had a distinct musical vision as few others do. He ranks with Derek Bailey and Keiji Haino in creating a uniquely individual genre within non-idiomatic improvisational music. In honor of his life, I post links to a live recording of Hans Reichel playing as a trio with Keiji Haino and Motoharu Yoshizawa (1931-1998) on January 10, 1991 at Gospel in Tokyo. I received this recording on a cassette about 1993 through the mail (specific details of the source forgotten, but I think it was someone at Forced Exposure). I clumsily "remastered" (too grand a word to be sure) the contents onto cdr. The show is provided here as two mp3 files, side A and side B. Forgive the lo-fi sound quality. To my knowledge this is the only instance of Haino and Reichel playing together. It is not one of the extraordinary highlights of Reichel's musical career, but rather an unreleased sidebar. I have posted a Hans Reichel obituary of my own. We also created an improvisational piece titled, "A Requiem for Hans Reichel", performed on daxophone, theremin, thumb piano and washing machine.

November 17, 2011
New Companion Soundtrack to a Eighteenth Century Satanic Novel:   Malört Förlag is a Swedish publishing house, specializing in texts about the fantastic, the numinous and the aberrant. Each book published has a soundtrack. Their first book is Le Diable amoureux (“The Devil in Love”), an occult novel from 1772 by Jacques Cazotte. The soundtrack contains a previously unreleased track by Haino. The Malört Förlag page on the soundtrack (including ordering information) is here. The compilation section of the discography has been updated. Feel free to leave a review on the reviews page.

June 8, 2011
New Release:   Prele Records (France) has released a new solo vocal album by Keiji Haino titled, Un autre chemin vers l'Ultime, recorded in a quarry cave. For liner notes and sound sample, visit the Prele Records website. The solo live section of the discography has been updated. Feel free to leave a review on the reviews page.

May 10, 2011
Video:  There is some good video footage of some recent Haino performances available on the web.

May 6, 2011
New(ish) Release:  It appears that a compilation featuring an Aihiyo track was released by Tokuma Japan in November, 2010 and went unnoticed here. The release is titled, "Groovin' Showa! Vol.7 - Romanticist". The compilation section of the discography has been updated. Feel free to leave a review on the reviews page.

Live Dates:  The erratically updated live dates section has taken a new leap in erraticism (not eroticism, fortunuately). The page has been post-humously updated with live dates from December 2010 through May 2011. Of note is the first Haino performance under the name of Fushitsusha (on January 14, 2011) since the death of Yasushi Ozawa in early 2008. This unit consisted of Haino on guitar and vocals, Tori Kudo on bass and Ikuro Takahashi on drums. This was Fushitsusha's first performance as a trio since Takahashi left the band in 2000. (Any performances under the name Fushitsusha in the past decade were either Haino/Ozawa duos or Haino solo shows.) There is a flyer from the show here.

April 10, 2011
New Release:  The trio of Keiji Haino, Jim O'Rourke & Oren Ambarchi have released a vinyl-only, limited edition double lp set on black truffle records titled,

in a flash

everything       comes together       as one
there is no       need       for a subject

The release is available from the usual online sources. See the collaborations section of the discography for more details. Feel free to leave a review on the reviews page.

April 10, 2011
Releases in 2010:   For those keeping track at home, it appears that the full slate of Haino releases for the calendar year 2010 rounds out at five.
  1. Full Blast + Friends - Crumbling Brain (Okka Disc, ODL 10011, 2010, cd)
  2. Ambarchi, Oren & Jim O'Rourke & Keiji Haino - Tima Formosa (Black Truffle/CCA Kitakyushu, BT-004, April, 2010, cd)
  3. Haino, Keiji and Pan Sonic - Synergy Between Mercy And Self-Annihilation Overturned (Blast First (petite), PTYT 043, released July, 2010, 2xlp)
  4. Seijaku - Mail from Fushitsusha (doubtmusic, dmf-136, 2010, cd)
  5. Seijaku - You Should Prepare To Survive Through Even Anything Happens (doubtmusic, dmf-137, 2010, cd)
If there are missing items in this list, please email me.


Return to An Unofficial Keiji Haino Homepage.